Review: Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

image

An excerpt from the book jacket:

In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one’s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and, most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told.

Lena Dunham, of HBO’s Girls fame, gives us insight into the sometimes funny, but always cogent events of her life. Much like her character Hannah on Girls, many of us feel we can relate to Dunham. We are a part of the millennial club! We all have shared experiences! (Well, maybe we haven’t won two Golden Globes as Dunham has…)

image

As Dunham walks us through her life, focusing on sex and body issues, friendship, work life, and the “big picture”, I can’t help but to relate to her narrative. Not in the sense that I grew up in New York or had artists for parents. Quite to the contrary, I grew up in a small town with conservative parents with boring 9-5 jobs. But the struggles Dunham writes about transcend geography and economic status.

From the first line of the introduction (“I am twenty years old and I hate myself. My hair, my face, the curve of my stomach.”) I feel like this woman gets me. I have a long, tangled history of hating myself. For close to two decades, I have walked in a shadow of self consciousness. I’m too fat, or too awkward, not smart enough, not good enough.

I won’t give away any of her tales, you’ll have to read them for yourself, but I guarantee you’ll walk away with a sense of camaraderie with our generation. From learning to accept yourself and all your flaws, to looking for love and contentment in life, we’re all in this crazy world together.

You can get the book here and follow Lena Dunham on Twitter.

One thought on “Review: Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

Leave a Reply

